Follow us on Facebook!   Follow us on Twitter   Follow us on You Tube

Key Facts

Ag. Chairman/Chief Executive Officer
Dr Anthony I.B. Akah

The Commisssion was created by and performs its operations based on the guidelines as stipulated in the Electric Power Sector Reform Act 2005 (pdf-89kb)

Member - Executive Council of African Forum for Utility Regulators

Corporate Headquarters
Adamawa Plaza,
Plot 1099, First Avenue,
Off Shehu Shagari Way, Central Business District
Abuja F.C.T, Nigeria

Tel: +234-09-462-1400, 09-462-1401.

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

The Commission

The Electric Power Sector Reform Act 2005 , provides for the tenured appointment of seven Commissioners, with one of them designated as Chairman/Chief Executive Officer, and another as Vice Chairman. The Commissioners are nominated by the President and confirmed by the Senate.

At present the Commission is headed by Dr. Anthony I.B. Akah who is the acting CEO and Head of the Commission.


The tenure of the last Commission ended on December 22, 2015  and it had the following as its members.


Dr Sam Amadi was the Chairman/CEO.

Muhammed Lawal Bello was the Vice Chairman/ Commissioner, Renewable Energy, Research & Development.

Engr. Mary Emiola Awolokun was the Commissioner, Finance & Management Services.

Dr Steven Andzenge  was the Commissioner Legal, Licensing & Enforcement..

Dr. Abba Armiya'u Ibrahim was the Commissioner, Engineering, Standards & Safety.

Mr. Ekpo Olagoke Eyo was the Commissioner, Government & Consumer Affairs.

Mr Patrick Umeh was the Commissioner, Markets, Competition & Rates.

The Commission was inaugurated on December 22, 2010 and its tenure ended on December 21, 2015